Understanding The Five Stages Of Grief

Understanding The Five Stages Of Grief

When someone we care about is grieving, it's natural to want to be there for them, to offer a comforting presence. Yet, understanding the complex emotions of grief can be challenging. One widely recognized framework for understanding the process of grieving is the "Five Stages of Grief" model by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross. The model says a person goes through five emotions when dealing with grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. By familiarizing ourselves with these stages, we can better support our loved ones as they navigate the painful path of loss.

Denial - "This can't be happening."
In this stage, it's common for the grieving person to be in a state of shock. The reality of the loss hasn't fully settled in. They might act like nothing has happened or avoid discussing the loss.

How to support: Offer a listening ear without pushing them to acknowledge or discuss the loss. Simply being there and offering silent comfort can be immensely helpful.

Anger - "Why is this happening?"
Anger can manifest in various ways, from frustration to resentment or even rage. It's a natural part of the process, as grief can often feel unjust and overwhelming.

How to support: Avoid taking their anger personally. Offer a non-judgmental space for them to express their emotions. It can be helpful to remind them that their feelings are valid.

Bargaining - "What if..."
Bargaining often involves trying to find a way to avoid or undo the loss. "If only I had done X, maybe this wouldn't have happened." It's a way of grappling with feelings of helplessness.

How to support: Listen and empathize. While you can't change the past, being a sounding board for their feelings and thoughts can be therapeutic.

Depression - "I can't bear this."
Depression sets in as the full weight of the loss becomes apparent. It can manifest as profound sadness, hopelessness, or a lack of interest in previously enjoyed activities.

How to support: Be patient and understanding. Avoid pushing them to "snap out of it." Small gestures, like sending a thoughtful note, bringing a meal, or just sitting with them, can make a difference.

Acceptance - "I will learn to live with this."
While the pain of loss doesn't disappear in the acceptance stage, there is a gradual shift towards finding a new normal. It's not about being "okay" with the loss, but rather finding a way to move forward.

How to support: Celebrate the small victories and milestones with them. Continue to check in, as grief doesn't follow a linear path and they may revisit earlier stages.

A few additional tips:
  • Every person's grief journey is unique. Some might not go through every stage, or they might experience them in a different order. It's essential to remember this and avoid making assumptions.
  • Avoid clichés. Phrases like "Everything happens for a reason" or "They're in a better place now" may not be comforting to everyone and can sometimes feel dismissive.
  • Stay connected. Even if they're pushing people away, it's essential to let them know you're there for them. A simple text or call can be comforting.
Supporting a grieving friend requires patience, understanding and a lot of compassion. By familiarizing yourself with the stages of grief and being there for your friend through each one, you can provide a comforting pillar of support during one of life's most challenging experiences.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.